The LGBTQ Fund of the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham announced $57,00  in grants awarded to 11 area nonprofits. Since its founding, the LGBTQ Fund has provided more than $300,000 to support programs in Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Blount, and Walker counties. This year the fund awarded grants that focused on:

  • Addressing the unmet needs of LGBTQ+ persons
  • Strengthening the infrastructure of organizations led by or serving LGBTQ persons
  • Supporting the provision of services to LGBTQ youth, individuals and families
  • Providing educational opportunities that highlight the needs of the LGBTQ community
  • Advancing collaboration between LGBTQ focused organizations and other community organizations
  • Supporting nonprofit partners advocating on public policy and social justice issues that intersect with LGBTQ concerns

Additionally, the LGBTQ Grants Committee prioritized proposals that specifically addressed the needs of LGBTQ communities that have been most demonstrably underserved, including but not limited to, communities of color, youth, seniors, transgender individuals, gender non-binary persons and persons in rural communities.  Priority was also given to intersectional programs addressing inclusive healthcare and mental health services, immigrant advocacy, racial and economic justice, faith and acceptance.

Established in 2014, the LGBTQ Fund is a Field of Interest Fund of the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham. The Fund is stewarded by the Community Foundation and guided by the LGBTQ Fund Advisory Committee. LGBTQ Fund Advisory Committee members include: Sydney Duncan, Suzanne Durham, Cynthia Lamar-Hart, Gina Mallisham, Jonathan Porter, Guin Robinson, Brett Shaffer, Lindsey Tanner (chair), George Taylor, and Tyrone Williams.

Since 2015, the LGBTQ Fund has consistently secured grants from a national funder, Funders for LGBT Issues in response to their Out in the South initiative, to support the Fund’s grantmaking; notably, a portion of this year’s funds stems from a 2022 matching grant from Funders for LGBT Issues.

The 2023 grantees were selected by the LGBTQ Fund’s Grants Committee which conducts in-depth reviews of all grant applicants, including site visits with new applicants. LGBTQ Fund Grants Committee members include: Carmarion Anderson, Deb Jacks, Gina Mallisham, Dori Miles, Patrick Scarborough, Brett Shaffer (chair), Elaine Stephens and George Taylor.

2023 LGBTQ Grants